Ataxia

Disease

Ataxia is a neurological disorder that can be caused by localized lesions in different motor or sensory regions of the central nervous system as well as pathologies of the peripheral nervous system. In general, problems with proprioception, the visual and vestibular system, the cerebellum or any problem in the interconnections between these systems can induce ataxia. Depending on the affected region, we speak of cerebellar, sensory or vestibular ataxia. Since control of voluntary movements relies on the integration of information from these systems, this is what brings about the characteristic symptoms of ataxia.

Symptoms

Although the most common definition of ataxia is an incoordination of movements, a more adequate definition would be an incoordination of movements as well as a disorder of equilibrium without muscular weakness. Specifically, patients may have abnormal walking and posture, incoordination in skilled movements, speech and swallowing disorders, and may experience fatigue.

In addition to motor symptoms and fatigue, there are a variety of other so-called non-motor symptoms that can afflict people with ataxia such as vision problems, cognitive impairment, and emotional problems such as depression, irritability, and anxiety. This being said, depending on the area(s) affected, there will be great variability in symptom presentation.

Exercise and Illness

Physical activity can help people with ataxia to improve and maintain their functional abilities. Indeed, exercise, like yoga and Tai Chi, make it possible to improve balance [1]. It has also been shown that different physical activities have positive effects on proprioception in people with ataxia [2]. In addition to better control of symptoms related to ataxia, physical activity helps to maintain autonomy by avoiding deconditioning linked to physical inactivity; which improves the ability to perform activities of daily living. Given the variability of the symptoms and their intensity, a personalized intervention by NeuroMotrix will allow you to obtain optimal results.

Let us develop a program that addresses the challenges posed by your health and feel the benefits of being active!

Train with NeuroMotrix

Sources

[1] Hackney & Earhart (2008) Tai Chi improves balance and mobility in people with Parkinson disease. Gait Posture 28(3):456-60.

[2] Schalow G. (2006) Improvement after cerebellar injury achieved by coordination dynamics therapy. Electromyography and Clinical Neurophysiology 46(7-8):433-9.

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques

Ataxie

La maladie

L’ataxie est une maladie neurologique qui peut être causée par des lésions localisées dans différentes régions motrices ou sensorielles du système nerveux central ainsi que des pathologies du système nerveux périphérique. De façon générale, des problèmes au niveau de la proprioception, du système visuel et vestibulaire, du cervelet ou tout problème au niveau des interconnexions entre ces systèmes peuvent induire de l’ataxie. Selon la région atteinte, on parlera alors d’ataxie cérébelleuse, sensorielle, ou vestibulaire. Puisque le contrôle des mouvements volontaires s’appuie sur l’intégration des informations provenant de ces systèmes, c’est ce qui amène les symptômes caractéristiques de l’ataxie.

Les symptômes

Bien que la définition la plus courante de l’ataxie soit une incoordination des mouvements, en se basant sur les recherches, une définition plus adéquate serait une incoordination des mouvements ainsi qu’un trouble de l’équilibre sans faiblesse musculaire. Spécifiquement, les personnes atteintes peuvent présenter des anomalies au niveau de la marche et de la posture, une incoordination lors de mouvements de précision, des troubles de la parole et de déglutition, et elles peuvent aussi ressentir une plus grande fatigue.

Outre les symptômes moteurs et la fatigue, il existe une variété d’autres symptômes dits non moteurs qui peuvent aussi affliger les personnes atteintes d’ataxie comme des troubles de la vision, des troubles cognitifs, ainsi que des troubles émotionnels comme la dépression, l’irritabilité, et l’anxiété. Ceci étant dit, selon la/les régions atteintes, il y aura une grande variabilité dans la présentation des symptômes.

L’exercice et la maladie

L’activité physique peut s’avérer un traitement judicieux qui aide les personnes atteintes de l’ataxie afin d’améliorer et préserver leurs capacités fonctionnelles. En effet, l’exercice, comme le yoga et le Tai Chi, permettent d’améliorer l’équilibre [1]. Il a aussi été démontré que différentes activités physiques ont des effets positifs sur la proprioception chez les personnes atteintes de l’ataxie [2]. En plus de mieux contrôler les symptômes liés à l’ataxie, l’activité physique permet de maintenir l’autonomie en évitant un déconditionnement lié à la sédentarité; ce qui améliore les capacités à accomplir ses activités de la vie quotidienne. Étant donné la variabilité des symptômes et de leur intensité, un suivi personnalisé NeuroMotrix vous permettra d’obtenir des résultats optimaux.

Laissez-nous le soin de vous développer un programme qui s’adresse aux défis que pose votre état de santé et ressentez les bienfaits d’être actif!

Entraînez-vous avec NeuroMotrix

Sources

[1] Hackney & Earhart (2008) Tai Chi improves balance and mobility in people with Parkinson disease. Gait Posture 28(3):456-60.

[2] Schalow G. (2006) Improvement after cerebellar injury achieved by coordination dynamics therapy. Electromyography and Clinical Neurophysiology 46(7-8):433-9.

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques