Dystonia

Disease

Dystonia is a disorder characterized by involuntary muscle contractions that cause slow repetitive movements as well as abnormal postures. There are several types of dystonia. Some may affect a specific muscle, a group of muscles or several muscles of the body. The origin of the majority of cases of dystonia is not known however, there are in some cases a genetic cause. Regardless of the origin of the dystonia itself, it would seem that the symptoms are related to a dysfunction in the basal ganglia, a region of the brain important for the control of movements. Dystonia can occur in both children and adults. In some cases, it may also be associated with other neurological disorders such as Parkinson’s disease and cerebral palsy.

Symptoms

Since dystonia can affect different muscles, the symptoms may vary from person to person. Depending on the affected muscles, symptoms can begin with cramps at the foot, after exercise or sporadically, at the level of the hand after writing or at the neck and even eyelids. The variability is such that it is often possible to make certain movements while others using the same muscles will cause pain. It is also possible to observe additional symptoms such as tremors and difficulty speaking. The symptoms of dystonia may in some cases worsen over time, while in other cases, there will be no progression.

Several treatment options are available to control the symptoms of dystonia such as botulinum toxin injections (e.g. Botox®), several types of medications as well as surgeries. The use of aids (e.g. splints) and physiotherapy can also have beneficial effects.

Exercise and Illness

Unfortunately, there are very few studies that have examined the effect of physical activity on the symptoms of dystonia. A recent study has demonstrated the beneficial effect of a program including stretching to optimize the effect of botulinum toxin injection on pain and quality of life [1]. Another study demonstrated that a specific training program to strengthen musculature in people with cervical dystonia was safe and tended to be beneficial [2]. A recent case study also suggests that an adapted training program can improve the control of affected muscles and thus reduce the dose of medication needed [3]. An important aspect to note is that in some cases symptoms can occur as a result of intense exercise so it is essential to consult a specialist before starting a training program.

Let us develop a program that addresses the challenges posed by your health and feel the benefits of being active!

Train with NeuroMotrix

Sources

[1] Queiroz et al. (2012) Physical therapy program for cervical dystonia: a study of 20 cases. Functional Neurology; 27(3): 187-192.

[2] Boyce et al. (2013) Active exercise for individuals with cervical dystonia: a pilot randomized controlled trial. Clinical Rehabilitation; 27(3): 226-235.

[3] Voos et al. (2014) Case report: Physical therapy management of axial dystonia. Physiotherapy: Theory and Practice; 30(1):56-61.

Share Button

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques

Dystonie

La maladie

La dystonie est un trouble caractérisé par des contractions musculaires involontaires qui entraînent des mouvements répétitifs lents ainsi que des postures anomales. Il y a plusieurs types de dystonies. Certaines peuvent affecter un muscle spécifique, un groupe de muscles ou plusieurs muscles du corps. L’origine de la majorité des cas de dystonie n’est pas connue cependant, il y a dans certains cas une cause génétique. Peu importe l’origine de la dystonie elle-même, il semblerait que les symptômes soient reliés à un dysfonctionnement au niveau des noyaux gris centraux, une région du cerveau importante pour le contrôle des mouvements. La dystonie peut se manifester tant chez les enfants que chez les adultes. Dans certains cas, elle peut aussi être associée à d’autres troubles neurologiques comme la maladie de Parkinson et la paralysie cérébrale.

Les symptômes

Puisque la dystonie peut affecter différents muscles, les symptômes peuvent varier d’une personne à l’autre. Selon les muscles affectés, les symptômes peuvent débuter par des crampes au niveau du pied, après de l’exercice ou de façon sporadique, au niveau de la main après avoir écrit ou au niveau du cou et même des paupières. La variabilité est telle qu’il est souvent possible de faire certains mouvements alors que d’autres utilisant les mêmes muscles entraîneront de la douleur. Il est aussi possible d’observer des symptômes additionnels comme des tremblements et de la difficulté à parler. Les symptômes de la dystonie peuvent, dans certains cas, s’aggraver avec le temps alors que dans d’autres cas, il n’y aura pas de progression.

Plusieurs options de traitement sont offertes pour contrôler les symptômes de la dystonie comme des injections de toxine botulinique (ex. Botox®), plusieurs types de médicaments ainsi que des chirurgies. L’utilisation d’aides (ex. attelles) et la physiothérapie peuvent aussi avoir des effets bénéfiques.

L’exercice et la maladie

Malheureusement, il y a très peu d’études qui ont examinées l’effet de l’activité physique sur les symptômes de la dystonie. Une étude récente a démontrée l’effet bénéfique d’un programme comprenant des étirements afin d’optimiser l’effet d’une injection de toxine botulinique sur la douleur et la qualité de vie [1]. Une autre étude a démontrée qu’un programme d’entraînement spécifique pour renforcer la musculature chez les personnes atteintes de dystonie cervicale était sécuritaire et tendait à être bénéfique [2]. Une étude de cas récente suggère aussi qu’un programme d’entraînement adapté peut améliorer le contrôle des muscles atteints et ainsi réduire la dose de médicaments nécessaire [3]. Un aspect qui est important de noter est que, dans certains cas, les symptômes peuvent survenir à la suite d’exercices intenses donc, il est primordial de consulter un spécialiste avant d’entreprendre un programme d’entraînement.

Laissez-nous le soin de vous développer un programme qui s’adresse aux défis que pose votre état de santé et ressentez les bienfaits d’être actif!

Entraînez-vous avec NeuroMotrix

Sources

[1] Queiroz et al. (2012) Physical therapy program for cervical dystonia: a study of 20 cases. Functional Neurology; 27(3): 187-192.

[2] Boyce et al. (2013) Active exercise for individuals with cervical dystonia: a pilot randomized controlled trial. Clinical Rehabilitation; 27(3): 226-235.

[3] Voos et al. (2014) Case report: Physical therapy management of axial dystonia. Physiotherapy: Theory and Practice; 30(1):56-61.

Share Button

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques