Parkinson’s disease

Disease

Parkinson’s disease (PD) is a neurodegenerative disorder characterized by the loss of dopaminergic neurons in the substancia nigra and the striatum of the basal ganglia in the midbrain. It is the substancia nigra pars compacta which is more marked by the death of dopaminergic neurons. This lack of dopamine affects the entire internal circuit of the basal ganglia, resulting in excessive inhibition of motor neurons in the cortex. Indeed, as it is dopamine which modulates the system of the basal ganglia, the movements are diminished, which is why PD is said to be a hypokinetic motor disorder.

Symptoms

PD is characterized by four predominant motor symptoms: tremor, bradykinesia (slowness of movements), muscular rigidity and postural instability. It is the presence of at least two of these symptoms that usually helps to diagnose the disease. By this time, more than half of the dopaminergic neurons would already be destroyed.

In addition to motor symptoms, there are a variety of other so-called non-motor symptoms that may occur during the course of the disease: dysregulation of saliva, change in taste and other senses, difficulty swallowing, constipation, incontinence, pain, dementia and cognitive problems, hallucinations, depression and anxiety, sexual disorder, orthostatic hypotension, diurnal hypersomnolence, insomnia, etc. That being said, there are important variants in the course of the disease and the symptoms can be quite different from one person to another.

Exercise and Illness

Physical activity can be a wise treatment that helps people with PD to preserve their functional abilities as long as possible. Indeed, exercise acts as an adjuvant to traditional treatments (pharmacological and surgical). Physical activity has been shown to have positive effects on mobility, walking, balance and muscle strength in people with PD [1,2]. Exercise would also improve the quality of life and symptoms of depression [3], and would help to maintain autonomy by enhancing the ability to perform activities of daily living [4, 5].

Discover the benefits of boxing

Physical activity is linked to a multitude of benefits in people with neurological disorders. Beyond the traditional aerobic and resistance exercises, non-traditional exercises such as tai chi, qigong and dance seem to be beneficial in order to improve several aspects of mobility and balance in people with PD. Another of these non-traditional exercises that is increasingly being researched in people with PD is boxing. The lure of boxing is that it focuses on endurance, explosive strength, as well as coordination between the upper limbs and lower limbs. Endurance training would be beneficial to counter deconditioning associated with physical inactivity and could also reduce fatigue. Training of the explosive force, especially of the legs during movements, could facilitate changes in direction and overlap during destabilization, which would improve the balance and could reduce the risk of falls. Finally, coordination training between the upper and lower body could also improve the balance and reduce the number of falls.

Scientific studies on the benefits of boxing have shown that this type of exercise is appropriate and safe for people with PD, even those who are at moderate or advanced stages [6]. Benefits of balance [6,7], walking [6,7], activities of daily living [6] and quality of life [6,7] were observed. These data suggest that the implementation of a boxing program would be beneficial for people with PD.

 

Let us develop a program that addresses the challenges posed by your health and feel the benefits of being active!

Train with NeuroMotrix

Sources

  1. Goodwin VA, Richards SH, Taylor RS, Taylor AH, Campbell JL. The effectiveness of exercise interventions for people with Parkinson’s disease: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Movement disorders : official journal of the Movement Disorder Society. 2008;23(5):631-40.
  2. Tomlinson CL, Patel S, Meek C, Clarke CE, Stowe R, Shah L, et al. Physiotherapy versus placebo or no intervention in Parkinson’s disease. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews. 2012;8.
  3. Dereli EE, Yaliman A. Comparison of the effects of a physiotherapist-supervised exercise programme and a self-supervised exercise programme on quality of life in patients with Parkinson’s disease. Clinical rehabilitation. 2010;24(4):352-62.
  4. Cedarbaum JM, Toy L, Silvestri M, Green-Parsons A, Harts A, McDowell FH. Review Article: Rehabilitation Programs in the Management of Patients with Parkinson’s Disease. Neurorehabilitation and neural repair. 1992;6(1):7-19.
  5. Patti F, Reggio A, Nicoletti F, Sellaroli T, Deinite G, Nicoletti F. Effects of Rehabilitation Therapy on Parkinsonians’ Disability and Functional Independence. Neurorehabilitation and neural repair. 1996;10(4):223-31.
  6. Combs SA et al (2011) Boxing training for patients with Parkinson disease: a case series. Phys Ther. 2011;91:132–142.
  7. Combs SA et al (2011) Community-based group exercise for persons with Parkinson disease: a randomized controlled trial. NeuroRehab. 2013;32(1):117-124.
Share Button

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques

Maladie de Parkinson

La maladie

Cours de boxe pour personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkisnon

La maladie de Parkinson (MP) est une maladie neurodégénérative caractérisée par la perte de neurones dopaminergiques dans la substance noire et le striatum, des noyaux gris centraux (ou ganglions de la base) se situant dans le mésencéphale (cerveau moyen). C’est la substance noire pars compacta qui est davantage marquée par la mort des neurones dopaminergiques. Ce manque de dopamine affecte tout le circuit interne des noyaux gris centraux, ce qui résulte en une inhibition excessive sur les neurones moteurs du cortex. En effet, comme c’est la dopamine qui module le système des noyaux gris centraux, les mouvements se voient diminués, c’est pourquoi on dit que la MP est un trouble moteur hypokinétique.

Les symptômes

La MP est caractérisée par quatre symptômes moteurs prédominants soit le tremblement, la bradykinésie (lenteur des mouvements), la rigidité musculaire et l’instabilité posturale. C’est la présence d’au moins deux de ces symptômes qui permet habituellement de diagnostiquer la maladie. À ce moment, plus de la moitié des neurones dopaminergiques seraient déjà détruites.

Outre les symptômes moteurs, il existe une variété d’autres symptômes dits non moteurs qui peuvent apparaître au cours de la maladie : écoulement de salive, changement dans les capacités à goûter et à sentir, difficulté à avaler, constipation, incontinence, douleurs, démence et problèmes cognitifs, hallucinations, dépression et anxiété, trouble sexuel, hypotension orthostatique, hypersomnolence diurne, insomnie, etc. Ceci étant dit, il existe des variantes importantes dans l’évolution de la maladie et les symptômes peuvent être bien différents d’une personne à l’autre.

L’exercice et la maladie

L’activité physique peut s’avérer un traitement judicieux qui aide les personnes atteintes de la MP à préserver le plus longtemps possible leurs capacités fonctionnelles. En effet, l’exercice agit comme adjuvant aux traitements traditionnels (pharmacologiques et chirurgicaux). Il a été démontré que l’activité physique a des effets positifs sur la mobilité, la marche, l’équilibre et la force musculaire des personnes atteintes de la MP [1, 2]. L’exercice permettrait aussi d’améliorer la qualité de vie ainsi que les symptômes de la dépression [3], et contribuerait à maintenir l’autonomie en améliorant les capacités à accomplir ses activités de la vie quotidienne [4, 5].

Découvrez les bienfaits de la boxe

L’activité physique est liée à une multitude de bénéfices chez les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques. Au-delà des exercices traditionnels, de type aérobie et en résistance, les exercices non-traditionnels comme le tai chi, le qigong et la danse semblent être bénéfiques afin d’améliorer plusieurs aspects de la mobilité et de l’équilibre chez les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson. Un autre de ces exercices non-traditionnels qui fait de plus en plus l’objet de recherches chez les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson est la boxe. L’attrait d’un entraînement de boxe est qu’il met l’accent sur l’endurance, la force explosive, ainsi que la coordination entre les membres supérieurs et les membres inférieurs. L’entraînement en endurance serait bénéfique pour contrer le déconditionnement associé à la sédentarité et pourrait aussi réduire la fatigue. L’entraînement de la force explosive, surtout au niveau des jambes lors des déplacements, pourrait faciliter les changements de directions et le recouvrement lors de déstabilisations, ce qui améliorerait l’équilibre et pourrait réduire les risques de chutes. Enfin, l’entraînement de la coordination entre le haut et le bas du corps pourrait aussi améliorer l’équilibre et réduire le nombre de chutes.

Les études scientifiques sur les bienfaits d’un entraînement en boxe ont démontré que ce type d’exercice est approprié et sécuritaire pour des personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson, même celles qui sont à un stade modéré ou avancé [6]. Des bienfaits au niveau de l’équilibre [6,7], de la marche [6,7], des activités de la vie quotidienne [6] et de la qualité de vie [6,7] ont été observés. Ces données permettent de croire que l’implantation d’un programme d’entraînement de boxe serait bénéfique pour les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson.

 

Laissez-nous le soin de vous développer un programme qui s’adresse aux défis que pose votre état de santé et ressentez les bienfaits d’être actif!

Entraînez-vous avec NeuroMotrix

Sources

  1. Goodwin VA, Richards SH, Taylor RS, Taylor AH, Campbell JL. The effectiveness of exercise interventions for people with Parkinson’s disease: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Movement disorders : official journal of the Movement Disorder Society. 2008;23(5):631-40.
  2. Tomlinson CL, Patel S, Meek C, Clarke CE, Stowe R, Shah L, et al. Physiotherapy versus placebo or no intervention in Parkinson’s disease. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews. 2012;8.
  3. Dereli EE, Yaliman A. Comparison of the effects of a physiotherapist-supervised exercise programme and a self-supervised exercise programme on quality of life in patients with Parkinson’s disease. Clinical rehabilitation. 2010;24(4):352-62.
  4. Cedarbaum JM, Toy L, Silvestri M, Green-Parsons A, Harts A, McDowell FH. Review Article: Rehabilitation Programs in the Management of Patients with Parkinson’s Disease. Neurorehabilitation and neural repair. 1992;6(1):7-19.
  5. Patti F, Reggio A, Nicoletti F, Sellaroli T, Deinite G, Nicoletti F. Effects of Rehabilitation Therapy on Parkinsonians’ Disability and Functional Independence. Neurorehabilitation and neural repair. 1996;10(4):223-31.
  6. Combs SA et al (2011) Boxing training for patients with Parkinson disease: a case series. Phys Ther. 2011;91:132–142.
  7. Combs SA et al (2011) Community-based group exercise for persons with Parkinson disease: a randomized controlled trial. NeuroRehab. 2013;32(1):117-124.
Share Button

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques