Multiple Sclerosis

Disease

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a chronic neurological disease affecting the myelin sheath of the nerve fibers of the white matter of the brain. The loss of this myelin sheath causes a slowing down of the nerve transmission, which results in a decrease in motor response which can go as far as complete inhibition of certain limbs of the body. The average age at which the first symptoms appear is 30 years. Women are nearly twice as likely to develop the disease than men.

Symptoms

Several motor symptoms are present in patients with MS, such as numbness, weakness in one or more limbs, abnormal fatigue, tremors, difficulty controlling movement, loss of balance, speech issues (dysarthria), cerebellar ataxia, etc.

MS occurs in four different forms and the symptoms vary according to these:

  • The benign form: It does not worsen over time and does not cause permanent disability.
  • Recurrent remittent form: It is characterized by episodes of relapses and remissions. During the latter, the symptoms do not resolve completely leading to disabilities whose severity varies from one person to another. The relapses are more frequent, often more severe than in the benign form and grow from one episode to another.
  • The progressive secondary form: In this form, the relapses are more severe, the remissions are incomplete and shorten to eventually disappear. The condition of the affected person deteriorates gradually resulting in an accumulation of neurological signs and symptoms. The course of the disease is regular and progressive.
  • Progressive primary form: The disease begins with a slow but gradual onset of neurological deficits. There are no episodes of relapse in this form. Problems appear gradually and increase with time. It is the most aggressive form of the disease.

Exercise and Illness

Physical activity in people with MS has been shown to have positive effects on balance, walking, depression, and fatigue [1]. An adapted plan makes it possible to delay the appearance of certain symptoms and to preserve patients’ autonomy thus making it possible to improve the quality of life of people with MS. By following cardiovascular and weight training programs, it is possible to reduce fatigue and improve quality of life after a period of 3-6 months [2, 3]. Given the variability of symptoms and phases of the disease, a NeuroMotrix personalized training will allow you to better meet these specific needs.

Let us develop a program that addresses the challenges posed by your health and feel the benefits of being active!

Train with NeuroMotrix

Sources

  1. Motl, R.W. and B.M. Sandroff, Benefits of Exercise Training in Multiple Sclerosis. Curr Neurol Neurosci Rep, 2015. 15(9): p. 585.
  2. McCullagh, R., A.P. Fitzgerald, R.P. Murphy, and G. Cooke, Long-term benefits of exercising on quality of life and fatigue in multiple sclerosis patients with mild disability: a pilot study. Clin Rehabil, 2008. 22(3): p. 206-14.
  3. Kerling, A., K. Keweloh, U. Tegtbur, M. Kuck, L. Grams, H. Horstmann, and A. Windhagen, Effects of a Short Physical Exercise Intervention on Patients with Multiple Sclerosis (MS). Int J Mol Sci, 2015. 16(7): p. 15761-75.

 

Share Button

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques

Sclérose en plaques

La maladie

La sclérose en plaques (SEP) est une maladie neurologique chronique affectant la gaine de myéline des fibres nerveuses de la substance blanche du cerveau. La perte de cette gaine de myéline cause un ralentissement de la transmission nerveuse, ce qui entraîne une diminution de la réponse motrice pouvant aller jusqu’à une inhibition complète de certains membres du corps. L’âge moyen auquel apparaissent les premiers symptômes est de 30 ans. Les femmes sont près de deux fois plus à risque de développer la maladie.

Les symptômes

Plusieurs symptômes moteurs sont présents chez les personnes atetintes de  la SEP comme des engourdissements, une faiblesse dans un ou plus d’un membre, une fatigue anormale, des tremblements, des difficultés à contrôler ses mouvements, des pertes d’équilibre, des troubles de paroles (dysarthrie), l’ataxie cérébelleuse, etc.

La SEP se présente sous quatre différentes formes et les symptômes varient en fonction de celles-ci:

  • La forme bénigne: Elle ne s’aggrave pas avec le temps et n’entraîne pas de handicap permanent.
  • La forme récurrente rémittente: Elle est caractérisée par des épisodes de poussées et de rémissions. Durant ces dernières, les symptômes ne se résorbent pas complètement menant à des incapacités dont la sévérité varie d’une personne à l’autre. Les poussées sont plus fréquentes, souvent plus sévères que dans la forme bénigne et croissent d’un épisode à l’autre.
  • La forme secondaire progressive: Dans cette forme, les poussées sont plus sévères, les rémissions sont incomplètes et s’écourtent pour éventuellement disparaître. La condition des personnes atteintes se détériore graduellement résultant en une accumulation de signes et symptômes neurologiques. L’évolution de la maladie est régulière et progressive.
  • La forme primaire progressive: La maladie débute avec apparition lente, mais progressive, des déficits neurologiques. Il n’y a pas d’épisodes de poussées dans cette forme. Les problèmes apparaissent graduellement et s’amplifient avec le temps. C’est la forme la plus agressive de la maladie.

L’exercice et la maladie

Il a été démontré que l’activité physique chez les personnes atteintes de la SEP a des effets positifs notamment sur l’équilibre, la marche, la dépression et la fatigue [1]. Un plan adapté permet de retarder l’apparition de certains symptômes et de préserver l’autonomie permettant ainsi d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de SEP. En suivant un entraînement cardiovasculaire et de musculation, il est possible d’améliorer ses capacités à l’effort, la qualité de vie et la résistance à la fatigue après une période de 3 à 6 mois [2, 3]. Étant donné la variabilité des symptômes et des phases de la maladie, un suivi personnalisé NeuroMotrix vous permettra de mieux répondre à ces besoins spécifiques.

Laissez-nous le soin de vous développer un programme qui s’adresse aux défis que pose votre état de santé et ressentez les bienfaits d’être actif!

Entraînez-vous avec NeuroMotrix

Sources

  1. Motl, R.W. and B.M. Sandroff, Benefits of Exercise Training in Multiple Sclerosis. Curr Neurol Neurosci Rep, 2015. 15(9): p. 585.
  2. McCullagh, R., A.P. Fitzgerald, R.P. Murphy, and G. Cooke, Long-term benefits of exercising on quality of life and fatigue in multiple sclerosis patients with mild disability: a pilot study. Clin Rehabil, 2008. 22(3): p. 206-14.
  3. Kerling, A., K. Keweloh, U. Tegtbur, M. Kuck, L. Grams, H. Horstmann, and A. Windhagen, Effects of a Short Physical Exercise Intervention on Patients with Multiple Sclerosis (MS). Int J Mol Sci, 2015. 16(7): p. 15761-75.

 

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques