Alzheimer’s disease

Disease

Alzheimer’s disease is an irreversible, progressive and neurodegenerative brain disease. It is the most common form of dementia and usually occurs after 65 years of age. It is characterized by a decrease in the number of neurons, especially at the cortical level. In the affected brain, there are neurofibrillary degenerations within the neurons and, outside the neurons, senile plaques.

Symptoms

Although Alzheimer’s disease is more often associated with memory loss, its symptoms are multiple. It is true that memory and mental abilities are affected, and it is often these symptoms that are the early symptoms of the disease. However, as the disease progresses, other symptoms may occur, including language impairment, temporal and spatial disorientation, decreased judgment, attention deficit, agitation and aggressiveness. Some people with this disease will also have episodes of delusions, hallucinations and sleep disorders. Even though the symptoms vary from one person to another, what they have in common is an increasing difficulty in accomplishing tasks of everyday life and, consequently, a loss of autonomy that grows with the course of the disease. It goes without saying that the quality of life of these people, and those around them, can be rapidly affected.

Exercise and Illness

It is now recognized that physical activity can, along with other healthy lifestyles, help curb or even prevent the development of Alzheimer’s disease [1]. Age being the main risk factor for this disease, this should encourage all of us who will grow old one day to be active! That said, physical activity also has significant positive effects on people affected, and that’s where NeuroMotrix comes in. It has been demonstrated that regular physical activity can significantly improve the ability of people to perform their daily tasks [2, 3], thus regaining a certain degree of autonomy. In addition, physical activity can have a positive effect on cognitive abilities by slowing down their decline [3, 4]. This property of physical activity could be increased when combined with cognitive stimulation exercises [5], which NeuroMotrix trainers are able to offer.

Let us develop a program that addresses the challenges posed by your health and feel the benefits of being active!

Train with NeuroMotrix

Sources

  1. Rolland, Y., Activité physique et maladie d’Alzheimer. Les cahiers de l’année gérontologique, 2010. 2(1): p. 24-29.
  2. Rao, A.K., A. Chou, B. Bursley, J. Smulofsky, and J. Jezequel, Systematic review of the effects of exercise on activities of daily living in people with Alzheimer’s disease. Am J Occup Ther, 2014. 68(1): p. 50-6.
  3. Hernandez, S.S., P.F. Sandreschi, F.C. Silva, B.A. Arancibia, R. da Silva, P.J. Gutierres, and A. Andrade, What are the Benefits of Exercise for Alzheimer s Disease? A Systematic Review of Past 10 Years. J Aging Phys Act, 2014.
  4. Farina, N., J. Rusted, and N. Tabet, The effect of exercise interventions on cognitive outcome in Alzheimer’s disease: a systematic review. Int Psychogeriatr, 2014. 26(1): p. 9-18.
  5. Penrose, F.K., Can Exercise Affect Cognitive Functioning in Alzheimer’s Disease? A Review of the Literature. Activities, Adaptation & Aging, 2005. 29(4).

 

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques

Maladie d’Alzheimer

La maladie

La maladie d’Alzheimer est une maladie irréversible, progressive et neurodégénérative du cerveau. Elle est la forme de démence la plus répandue et apparaît généralement après 65 ans. Elle est caractérisée par une diminution du nombre de neurones, surtout au niveau cortical. Dans le cerveau atteint, on retrouve, à l’intérieur des neurones, des dégénérescences neurofibrillaires et, à l’extérieur des neurones, des plaques séniles.

Les symptômes

Bien que la maladie d’Alzheimer soit plus souvent associée à la perte de mémoire, ses symptômes sont multiples. Il est vrai que la mémoire et les habiletés de la pensée sont affectées, c’est d’ailleurs souvent ces symptômes qui sont le signe précurseur de la maladie. Cependant, à mesure que la maladie évolue, d’autres symptômes peuvent se manifester, notamment des troubles du langage, une désorientation temporelle et spatiale, une diminution du jugement, un déficit attentionnel, de l’agitation et de l’agressivité. Certaines personnes atteintes de cette maladie auront aussi des épisodes de délires, des hallucinations et des troubles du sommeil. Même si les symptômes varient d’une personne à l’autre, ce qu’elles ont en commun est une difficulté de plus en plus grande à accomplir les tâches de la vie quotidienne et, par conséquent, une perte d’autonomie qui croît avec l’évolution de la maladie. Il va sans dire que la qualité de vie de ces personnes, et de leur entourage, peut être rapidement affectée.

L’exercice et la maladie

Il est maintenant reconnu que l’activité physique peut, avec d’autres saines habitudes de vie, contribuer à freiner ou même peut-être prévenir le développement de la maladie d’Alzheimer [1]. L’âge étant le principal facteur de risque de cette maladie, ceci devrait encourager tous ceux et celles d’entre nous qui vieilliront un jour à être actifs! Ceci étant dit, l’activité physique a également des effets positifs notables sur les personnes atteintes, et c’est là qu’entre en jeu NeuroMotrix. Il a été démontré que les capacités fonctionnelles que l’activité physique pratiquée de façon régulière permet d’améliorer de façon significative et en peu de temps la capacité des personnes à accomplir leurs tâches quotidiennes [2, 3], donc retrouver un certain degré d’autonomie. De plus, l’activité physique peut avoir un effet positif sur les capacités cognitives en ralentissant leur déclin [3, 4]. Ce potentiel serait accru lorsque l’activité physique est combinée à des exercices de stimulation cognitive [5], ce que les entraîneurs de NeuroMotrix sont en mesure de vous offrir.

Laissez-nous le soin de vous développer un programme qui s’adresse aux défis que pose votre état de santé et ressentez les bienfaits d’être actif!

Entraînez-vous avec NeuroMotrix

Sources

  1. Rolland, Y., Activité physique et maladie d’Alzheimer. Les cahiers de l’année gérontologique, 2010. 2(1): p. 24-29.
  2. Rao, A.K., A. Chou, B. Bursley, J. Smulofsky, and J. Jezequel, Systematic review of the effects of exercise on activities of daily living in people with Alzheimer’s disease. Am J Occup Ther, 2014. 68(1): p. 50-6.
  3. Hernandez, S.S., P.F. Sandreschi, F.C. Silva, B.A. Arancibia, R. da Silva, P.J. Gutierres, and A. Andrade, What are the Benefits of Exercise for Alzheimer s Disease? A Systematic Review of Past 10 Years. J Aging Phys Act, 2014.
  4. Farina, N., J. Rusted, and N. Tabet, The effect of exercise interventions on cognitive outcome in Alzheimer’s disease: a systematic review. Int Psychogeriatr, 2014. 26(1): p. 9-18.
  5. Penrose, F.K., Can Exercise Affect Cognitive Functioning in Alzheimer’s Disease? A Review of the Literature. Activities, Adaptation & Aging, 2005. 29(4).

 

La solution en entrainement pour les personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques